Books We Love

We work with lots of amazing books and love to take the opportunity to highlight our favorites.  Each month, our literacy team selects a few of our favorite books to share with our community. We will be sharing amazing books for a wide age range.  We will also use this space to highlight the voices and stories of those from historically marginalized groups. You can donate any of these titles and previous Books We Love using our Book Wish List.

September

3.jpg
Abdul’s Story 
by Jamilah Thompkins-Bigelow (Author), Tiffany Rose (Illustrator), Salaam Reads (Publisher)

Abdul loves to tell stories. But writing them down is hard. His letters refuse to stay straight and face the right way. And despite all his attempts, his papers often wind up with more eraser smudges than actual words. Abdul decides his stories just aren’t meant to be written down…until a special visitor comes to class and shows Abdul that even the best writers—and superheroes—make mistakes.

6.jpg
Touch Your Nose
by Amy Pixton (Author), Lizzy Doyle (Illustrator), Workman Publishing (Publisher)

Indestructibles is the trusted series for easing little ones into story time. Beloved by babies and their parents, Indestructibles are built for the way babies “read” (i.e., with their hands and mouths).


Touch Your Nose showcases a diverse set of baby characters and features high-color, high-contrast illustrations that are perfect for the youngest readers!

9.jpg
Witchlings
by Claribel A. Ortega (Author), Scholastic Press (Publisher)

With action-packed adventure, a coven of quirky witchlings, Claribel A. Ortega's signature humor, and girl-power vibes, you won't be able to put down this middle-grade Latine witch story, perfect for fans of Amari and the Night Brothers or Harry Potter.

12.jpg
Lulu and Milagro’s Search for Clarity
by Angela Velez (Author), Balzer +Bray (Publisher)

Booksmart meets Never Have I Ever in this Latinx road trip adventure—a big-hearted, voice-driven YA about two sisters who couldn’t be more different, but become begrudging partners on their school’s cross-country college trip—from debut author Angela Velez. Perfect for fans of Lilliam Rivera, Jenny Han, and Sandhya Menon.