Young Adult Coming Soon: Books We're Excited About

Summer is the season of discovery. Many teens have the luxury of more time, which is the perfect opportunity to discover books that they’re both interested and invested in. Books for the beach, books for the couch and books for staying up late and waking up early.

Below is a list of some of the YA books coming out in summer 2022 that we are most excited about — there’s a little something for everyone.


Pre-order all these books from our Bookshop page!


You might also like these posts for teens:


Celebrating LGBTQ+ History and Pride Month, Novels in Verse for Teens, Banned Books, Affirming and Gender-Inclusive Books, Sporty Books for Teens, YA Book to TV/Movie Adaptations, Youth Activism, Graphic Novels, Spooky Books for Teens



New Releases: June

TJ Powar Has Something to Prove - June 7th

Author: Jesmeen Kaur Deo | Publisher: Viking Books for Young Readers


A charismatic rom-com about high schooler TJ Powar as she sets out to prove that she can be her beautiful, charming self and be hairy. When TJ and he cousin Simran become the victims of an ugly viral meme about the stigma of body hair - and lack thereof - TJ decides to take a stand and stop shaving and waxing all together. As she gains more attention, especially from the boy on the rival debate team, she learns that the hardest person to convince that body hair is beautiful may just be herself.


A book tackling topics of self love, Euro-centric beauty standards, and body image with a strong Desi female lead?! We can’t wait.

Zyla & Kai - June 7th

Author: Kristina Forest | Publisher: Kokila

Empress Crowned in Red - June 7th

Author: Ciannon Smart | Publisher: HarperTeen

Out There: Into The Queer New Yonder - June 7th

Edited by: Saundra Mitchell | Publisher: Inkyard Press

This Place Is Still Beautiful - June 7th

Author: XiXi Tian | Publisher: Balzer + Bray

This Wicked Fate - June 21st

Author: Kalynn Bayron| Publisher: Bloomsbury YA

Epically Earnest - June 21st

Author: Molly Horan | Publisher: Clarion Books

Ride With Me - June 28th

Author: Lucy Keating | Publisher: Clarion Books

The Dream Runners - June 28th

Author: Shveta Thakrar | Publisher: HarperTeen

Bad Things Happen Here - June 28th

Author: Rebecca Barrow | Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books

The Black Girls Left Standing - June 28th

Author: Juliana Goodman | Publisher: Feiwel & Friends


New Releases: July

Boys I Know - July 5th

Author: Anna Gracia | Publisher: Peachtree Teen

The Darkening - July 5th

Author: Sunya Mara | Publisher: Clarion Books

The Charmed List - July 5th

Author: Julie Abe | Publisher: Wednesday Books


A lighthearted summer romance!


Ellie Kobota, known as her high school’s quiet girl, is ready to spend her summer checking things off of her Anti-Wallflower List - thirteen items meant to help her take risks and give her a life changing summer. When an item on her list takes a turn for the worst - getting revenge on Jack Yasuda - Ellie is convinced her charmed summer is now cursed. Instead of her bucket list road trip with her best friend Lia, she is now stuck cruising down the coast with Jack towards a magical convention. Will this unexpected journey lead to number thirteen on her list - falling in love?

Blackwater - July 19th

Authors: Jeannette Arroyo and Ren Graham | Publisher: Henry Holt and Co

Crumbs - July 19th

Author: Danie Stirling | Publisher: Clarion Books

The Witchery - July 26th

Author: S. Isabelle | Publisher: Scholastic Press


A dark academia novel with a refreshingly diverse cast of main characters, The Witchery is perfect for fans of Vampire Academy and A Song Below Water that is the perfect end of summer novel to prepare you for a spooky start to fall.


The Haunting Season has descended on Haelsford, Florida and the witches at Mesmortes Coven Academy can hear the wolves howling. Logan is new to Mesmortes, but is welcomed into the inner circle of the Red Three. Iris, Jailah and Thalia are all talented witches who have differing motivations for befriending Logan. Iris, a deathwitch, is desperate to end the town curse. Jailah’s power and thirst for ambition tempt her towards a path of darkness. Thalia, a greenwitch, wishes to leave her past behind, but the past never likes to stay dead. Humans and witches are compelled to work together as the Haunting Season begins. The four witches form an uneasy alliance with two boys from Hammersmitt, a neighboring academy, and encounter danger at every turn. Will they be successful at ending the town curse or will the wolves prevail?


New Releases: August

The Honeys- August 2

Author: Ryan La Sala | Publisher: Scholastic Press


From popular author Ryan La Sala comes a twisted and deeply unsettling horror novel set against the backdrop of a bucolic and dreamy summer camp.


Mars has spent his life hidden in the shadow of his radiant twin sister Caroline. But when Caroline dies under heinous circumstances, Mars is determined to figure out what really happened. This means infiltrating Carolines most prized place - the prestigious Aspen Conservancy Summer Academy - where Mars was frequently excluded due to his gender fluidity.


When he arrives, he finds a rustic and secluded camp full of old school traditions and toxic gender roles. He must seek out Caroline’s group of friends, the Honey’s, named for the beehives they maintain behind their cabin, that he is convinced have something to do with Caroline’s untimely death. But the more time he spends at Aspen, the more he feels as though something is hunting him. Will he survive the summer or will the rot inside Aspen cause him to meet the same devastating end as his sister?

The Feeling of Falling in Love- August 2nd

Author: Mason Deaver | Publisher: Push

A Girl's Guide to Love and Magic - August 2nd

Author: Debbie Rigaud | Publisher: Scholastic Press

How to Date a Superhero (And Not Die Trying) - August 2nd

Author: Cristina Fernandez | Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

Blood Like Fate - August 9th

Author: Liselle Sambury | Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books